The State of Texas passed laws that allow us to carry concealed handguns for
self-protection. Obtaining a permit to carry concealed in the State of Texas
requires a 6 hour Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which is
outlined by the State Department of Public Safety and covers the use of force,
gun safety, gun storage, dispute resolution and Texas laws regarding use of
force as a defense and licensing requirements. It also requires a shooting test with a required minimum score to prove your shooting proficiency.
Obtaining a permit to carry concealed in the State of Texas requires completion
of the course, qualifying with a handgun at the range, and passing a 50 question
test. The applicant then applies and pays a fee to the State which completes a
background check and completes the issuance of the license.
It is no longer required to re-certify with the State of Texas, but we encourage those that carry a concealed handgun practice your shooting periodically.
CHL costs are as follows:
- $135.00 for a new CHL license
- $125.00 for Seniors (60 or older), Veterans (need a copy of DD214) or Active Military (show ID)
- $125.00 per person (Married couple taking class, same class date)
- $25.00 for assistance and completion of the paperwork only
Maps to the class and range will come up with an outline of the class.
We require a $50.00 deposit and balance paid the day of class.
This class includes:
Instructional hours required by the State Of Texas
Assistance in completing required paperwork
Notarization the paperwork
Click here to register for a
Click here for items that need to be
brought to the CHL Class